After the Whole30

So Whole30 is done, both officially and unofficially. DH came back on June 16 and I finished the diet that Friday.

Overall I think I’m slightly disappointed. I did not feel that much better nor did I sleep better. I did lose anywhere from 5 to 8 lbs (my scale is sensitive). Otherwise I did not see any noticeable difference.

On the other hand, I think I finally conquered my sweet tooth. I’m still drinking my coffee without sweetener (though with local cream instead of ghee or coconut milk). I have put 1/2 tsp of honey in my green tea and sometimes I drink it unsweetened. I no longer keep chocolate in my drawer at work and I don’t have a piece at home every day. I have not had sweet beyond fruit and my first waffle since starting the Whole30 (waffle was only sweetened with 1 apple and 1 banana – recipe here). I have been eating more vegetables and they have all been local. I am going to continue minizing sweeteners and sweets overall from now on. It is so easy to fall back into a routine of eating them that I think it will pay off to continue to minimize them.

I have been exercising 3-5 times a week. I use a tape (about 20 min usually) for an abdominal/hips/thighs workout. I also do some stretching and weightlifting for my arms. Even though I did not lose much weight, my tummy is flatter and I can fit better into a lot of pants I could not fit into before…

I have enjoyed adding dairy back in – so far it’s not that much. I use butter alongside my beloved ghee. I eat some cheese (including a local goat cheese that is delicious) and use heavy cream (also local) in my coffee. I have used some milk in my espresso and that does not seem to bother me. I will continue to be discriminating in my use of dairy, especially when eaten at home.

As a long-term goal, I will continue cooking and eating whole foods at home and stearing away sweets. That might be tough when my kids gets back from their vacation but it’s something I will be doing. I’m trying to cook up a storm for the next 2 weeks (before I leave to pick them up) to stash my freezer. On the list are waffles (recipe above), pancakes, cooked taco meat, muffins, prepped fruit for smoothies and the like. I’m planning to put my 10 year old on a gluten-free diet for 30 days so I’ve made up some GF flatbread and will be making rolls and tortillas in the weeks to come… Busy summer!

Leave a Reply

