Back to GAPS?

Welcome to 2014!! I know, I know… it’s the middle of March. I’ve been busy, you know?

Overall my health has been good, but not great. I miss the ‘great’, I do… I promised myself I would do better in 2014, but life keeps getting in the way. It’s not an excuse, it’s just…. life. When it comes down to it, I really am doing better. My 4 YO is eating well (his current favorite is bacon-roasted broccoli – BROCCOLI – did you get that? the recipe is here). My 9 YO is not doing that great (and is starting to get white spots on teeth and indigestion). The quality of food I’ve been cooking at home has improved. Up until a few weeks ago we were eating pastured eggs exclusively! I’ve been trying to clean up the snacks mostly and move away from gluten but it’s been hard.

So I just finalized my plans for the summer. The kids will be spending it in Europe (again), DH will stay there with them for 3 weeks and I will spend 2.5 weeks with them before bringing them back in time for school to start in the fall. Since I’ll be by my lonesome for 3 weeks, I’m going to redo the GAPS intro and be full GAPS by the time DH gets back. I’m really hoping the reset will put me back on track to feeling better and having more energy. I can’t really sustain GAPS 100% of the time but I’d like to at least be Paleo and not cheat so much. Tortilla chips are the bane of my existence and my family’s love of Mexican is NOT helping!!

All in all, the food I’ve been eating hasn’t been bad. My breakfasts are usually eggs with meat (bacon, ham, sausage) or pancakes (almond flour) or waffles (almond flour or plaintain) or Applegate hot dogs. I’ve been doing jerky and a Larabar for a quick lunch, sometimes leftovers, sometimes soup. I have been allowing myself some potatoes or rice or rice pasta, but not always and only in small portions. I’m going to save it for very special occasions or as a rare treat. I have been doing kefired milk or cream Mon – Fri with my lunches but have not been taking my Custom Probiotics. I think I’m going to order some Bio-Kult this summer…

I’m going to wrap this up for now. In the next few weeks (time permitting), I’m going to come up with a more detailed plan on what I’ll be cooking while on intro. See you soon!

Leave a Reply

