Back on track…

… or as close as I can get for right now. I finished my gluten-free bread from the freezer. I must say I enjoyed it – especially slathered with butter and liverwurst – but I have no plans to go back to it. If the feeling strikes me, I may make a loaf of a good GAPS-legal bread (there is an almond flour/coconut flour recipe I’ve been wanting to try…). My local Whole Foods has been having cream on sale: local grassfed non-homogenized cream for 8.99 a half gallon. It is awesome in coffee (I’ve been adding a bit to see if I react – I’ve been having some pain-behind-the-eyes, around my sinuses, but that was there before I started the cream.. we’ll see if it continues) and makes amazing kefired cream. So thick you can turn the jar upside down!! Broth continues to be my nemesis – I really just need to get into a habit of having a cup every night when I get home from work. Period. No excuses. I’ll work on it… I have also gotten away from my probiotics and SK. I’m planning to get back on that wagon in the next week or two.

I bought some great produce at the local market last weekend: pak choy, eggplant, zucchini, cucumbers, tomatoes (so yummy), peaches (local Georgia peaches – ’nuff said), etc… plus a gallon of local honey. I’ve been out for a while and buying small jars at the store is way expensive. I’ve gone back to enjoying simple meals of meat, veggie and sauce. Potatoes continue to be an indulgence but I have no ill effects and I keep the portions small. I’ve also used a bit of tapioca for frying up chicken cutlets and in sauces: again, no ill effects.

Eating out is continuing to pose an issue though in most places I stick very, very close to GAPS. I’ve had some sugar here and there: bits of dessert, some sweet tea (my 8 year old has been ordering half sweet/half unsweet tea and I have some of his) and a few tortilla chips in Mexican places. I’m going to get even more strict while eating out – the tortilla chips are nice but I’d rather buy some organic non-GMO non-fried-in-soy-oil kind, if you know what I mean… I can indulge at home.

My older son is turning 8 in a couple of weeks and I’m going to give this cake a try – looks amazing, right?
http://nourishedandnurtured.blogspot.com/2012/03/strawberry-chocolate-layer-cake-gaps.html

All of Sarah’s recipes look great and the few I’ve tried turned out great (try the clafoutis!). Can’t wait!!

I’ve noticed lately that I can’t seem to be getting enough sleep. Even though I sleep 8-9 hours a night I wake up tired and keep yawning throughout the day… effect of the grains I’ve been eating? Possibly… the next few weeks will tell.  I may have to go back to GAPS 100%. We’ll see… I’ll try to keep everyone posted!

Leave a Reply

