The last week

I wanted to summarize the last 2 weeks for those of you that might send your children to school. As I have mentioned before, last week was G’s first week at daycare. Overall he did remarkably well!! He ate pretty much everything, didn’t cry (much) and seemed excited and happy to be there. So here we go:

The good
It’s nice to have both kids in school and not have to worry about someone being late, not showing up, sick, going on vacation, etc. They are both within a mile of home and in places that, while not being home, are giving them good care. G did great and is slowly coming out of his shell, being and interacting with other kids, playing with new toys, not following the teacher all the time, etc.

The bad
G got sick towards the end of his first week. Not surprising when almost all kids in the class are running around with runny noses. He’s stuffed up and has a nasty cough (fortunately it’s wet now and clearing up). He won’t take medicine so I’ve been putting a cough syrup and Umcka drops in his tea. He has been steadily improving and what’s important his behavior remains upbeat. I do have to get up earlier and basically fix breakfast and lunch for 3 plus 2 snacks for G. I do as much as I can the night before and so far have managed okay.

There really is not an ‘ugly’ here. G has been eating most of what I have been sending but I have to wait until he’s healthy again before making judgement. I bought some new snack-sized containers since I was sending snacks that were too big and he was not eating his lunch. I have sent a fresh snack (strawberries, blueberries, banana) and dry snacks (Annie’s bunnies, GF pretzels, raisins, butter cookies, cereal – so far nothing homemade but I’ll get there). For lunches I have done pizza, meatballs in tomato sauce with veggies and a bit of noodles, roasted chicken with veggies and rice, turkey sandwich, quesadillas… These are not all GAPS legal, of course, but he’s been eating. I think he still has to adapt to eating quickly and not looking so much as other kids. We’ll all get there!!

I have to mention I have eaten some clearly non GAPS things the past week and got a crampy stomachache afterwards. I’m not certain if it was the Rapadura in a smoothie or bits of rice mixed into my veggies. Eating out has been fine – the only illegals I’ve done are a few tortilla chips. I also do bits of sugar here and there, like a square of dark chocolate, but generally keep to honey only. I’m about to buy some dried stevia and see how that can be used (the liquid I have leaves a bit of an aftertaste so I use it sparingly).

I also have to mention that in addition to G starting school last week, DH has been working long days, not getting home till 8 or 8:30 at night. That means all cooking/reheating, feeding, cleaning up and washing has been left up to me. I also had several appointments: looking into summer camps for A, lunch at A’s school, chess trophy day at A’s school, picnic at A’s school, etc. I have tried not to stress about these things (and been mostly successful). I have one event today and one more next Friday and then we’re done. Last day of school is May 24. I’ll be making final decisions about summer camps this weekend.

Food diary
B: scrambled eggs with cheese, almond flour pancakes with butter
L: meatballs in spicy tomato sauce with broccoli rabe, green beans and zucchini/squash, SK, watered down coffee with plain creamer

I need to make more pumpkin/squash pancakes. They seem to fill me up better than the almond flour ones. I wonder if I can bake up a whole pan like I do with the almond flour pancakes…. I also need to make more red SK. I ran out and I’m eating my ‘cole slaw’ SK: cabbage, carrots, radish greens. Not bad, but not as tasty as my red SK!!! My tax refunds have come in so I’m about to order some BioKult and a reverse osmosis filter. There are also a few odds and ends I’ve been meaning to order but these two will be the priciest (I want to get 10 bottles of BioKult to get the price break).

Leave a Reply

