Changes

Time for another post! We’ve had some changes around here…

My younger son (turned 2 in January) is going through his first week at daycare. Our nanny had to leave for health reasons. Of course I’m packing G’s lunch and both snacks (right now he eats half his breakfast at home and leftovers at the school). Have you seen some school menus lately? Processed food galore… no, thanks. Honestly, I don’t think G would even eat it – he’s used to homecooked meals and fresh fruit. Even when we go out to eat, he likes simple things (grilled chicken or steak) or more homey foods (like an Italian place we go to that has awesome fresh food). So my mornings now start earlier and are a bit busier. I heat up our lunches and prep breakfast for 3 (including my almost 8 year old). I’m keeping things simple (of course). For example, today’s food went like this:
B: French toast with just a smidge of maple syrup (organic challah bread made with butter, whole milk and cream, eggs; cooked in coconut oil); bacon, strawberries
morning snack: blueberries (how much simpler can you get, right?)
L: chicken cutlet (breaded in mix of organic bread crumbs and Parmesan, cooked in coconut oil), carrots cooked in broth, peas with butter – both veggies reheated in butter
afternoon snack: Annie’s organic chocolate chip bunnies

So far G has done great!! Some whimpering when I leave which stops before I even get back to my car. He’s been taking naps and eating pretty much all of his food, too. He slept through the night last night!! This really puts my mind at ease…

I might have commented how my tummy seemed more bloated lately… it seems to have gone back to normal. I wonder if it had to do with the starches I was eating (rice, rice pasta, potatoes). I have nixed these for now. I may try some potatoes only and see, but rice is out for now.

Update 2:30pm
I wound up not eating the avocado – I’ll save it for tonight. G was eating very well at school, at least morning snack and lunch. He actually didn’t eat that much for lunch yesterday so he finished his dinner, then proceeded to eat a whole apple, several pistachios, slice of cake.. forget what else. He really filled up!

Food diary
B: 2 scrambled eggs in bacon fat, almond flour pancake with butter, 2 slices of bacon, green tea with honey
L: borscht, 1/2 avocado, red SK, few strawberries, 1/2 small apple, diluted coffee with honey and Primal creamer

Update 10:50am next day
Dinner was ground pork patties (ground pork, marjoram, salt, pepper, egg, fresh parsley, Parmesan) breaded in egg and coconut/almond flour mix. I ate it with creamed spinach and a bit of mashed potato. Both G and A ate very well. G did great for the rest of the day yesterday but this morning he cried when I left… fortunately the teacher is able to soothe him very quickly. His meals today:
B: eggs over ham, pancakes with butter/maple syrup
morning snack: strawberries
L: pizza with squash, zucchini, ham and pineapple, green beans in butter
afternoon snack: trail mix: organic O’s cereal, pistachios, dried pineapple, papaya and raisins

Leave a comment