More lessons: gluten is definitely out…

I’ve been experimenting with non-GAPS foods. I don’t really miss them much but it’s nice to have the occasional bit of rice or potato when eating out. I’ve come to the conclusion that I can have a bit of rice, rice noodles, beans and potatoes without issues. I recently had some of those items when eating out and did fine. However, the onion rings I had (just 2) did not go over well at all. We’re talking stomach cramps and sharp pains in the abdominal area when I could barely breathe. Won’t be doing that again. I have been able to eat things thickened with arrowroot. I use it for stews and such. Very happy to find this out as I no longer have to separate my portion from the the family’s. I have also gone back to using commercial sour cream (Daisy brand which only has cultured cream as ingredient). I can handle tiny amounts of sugar as well – I usually keep it to 1g per serving or less.

I’m trying to stay focused on healing foods: broth, ferments, probiotics, etc. I’m eating maybe 1 serving of fruit a day and basically no baked items. I do have a few nut butter pancakes in the morning (always with tons of butter) and I consider that my ‘treat’. Coffee has been going over well, too. I do half regular/half decaf and I water that even more. I use mostly Primal creamer (coconut milk or cream) with occasional creamer – no ill effects. I have not tried raw milk yet – I’ve been buying low-temp pasteurized and I don’t care to drink that right now.

I’m loving kefir!! I quit drinking it years ago while on WAPF diet because I just couldn’t stand the taste. I now I have a cup or two every day and could do much, much more!! I kefir milk, half and half and cream and love all 3. My local Whole Foods just started carrying fairly local (I’m in GA – this is AL milk) non homogenized cream and I’m psyched!! I shop there every week and now I won’t have to go 1 hour away to get good cream. Awesome!! The same company has milk as well and it was actually sold out last time I was there. I’ll be on the lookout…

Kids are doing okay. A is still picky as ever and G has become quite picky as well. I still offer good foods and occasionally resort to turkey/cheese/SK plates but all in all I can’t complain. I’m buying whole milk flavored kefir for A’s snacks at school (no additives, whole milk, low sugar) and he loves it. Much better choice than granola bars so I’m not complaining… I’m thinking with A it’s a behavior issue as he has been saying ‘no’ to a lot of things lately – as if he just figured out he could say it so he’s exercising that power freely. I’m hoping to ride it out and for him to get back to his old self.

Food has been simply around here. I’m sticking to tried and true favorites for lunch plus my regular add-ons: kefir, 1/2 avocado and red SK. I have a bit of GAPS chocolate or a baked good or a serving of fruit as a ‘sweet’. I also treat my coffee as a treat or occasional soaked nuts. My sinuses seem clear and my BMs are a regular daily occurence. I don’t burp or have gas.

All in all, I’m happy where I am with GAPS. I know I need to be doing more probiotics and more broth. I’m getting a large tax refund this year and I’m going to get 2 things by this summer: a water filter and BioKult. There has been a lot of talk in the online community about eating grains but honestly I don’t miss them and I know my body can’t handle them right now. Eventually I’d like to have some rice and potatoes and possibly some gluten gree grains, properly prepared, but not yet. I’m doing okay now with no grains: I have plenty of energy, my cycle is lighter than normal and regular, BMs are normal, etc. So I’m going to listen to my body for now and keep doing GAPS. I’m in my 2nd year now and I know this is pretty average for GAPSters. I’m going to keep on eating healing foods and re-evaluate as needed.

Food diary
B: 2 Applegate beef hot dogs with mustard, Gouda cheese, 3 nut butter pancakes with butter, green tea with honey and ginger
L: tomato soup (tomato puree, chicken broth, sour cream), 1/2 avocado, red SK, kefir, strawberries (local!), coffee with chocolate Primal creamer and honey
D: Buffalo chicken, some potatoes?, some veggies (not sure yet…)

Leave a Reply

