Intro – stage 4, day 2

Food diary (yesterday)
B: sausage, pancakes with butter, scrambled eggs
L: broth, kefir, few almonds, roasted chicken with sauteed zucchini, tea with honey
D: cheese dip with chicken, shrimp, beef and pico de gallo, unsweet tea

Food diary (today)
B: CP in water, FCLO, scrambled eggs with bacon (not GAPS legal), sausage, pancakes with butter
L: broth, kefir, avocado with tomato and EVOO, few almonds

I blew it… I think. We went out last night and I didn’t realize I couldn’t have raw veggies yet (stage 5). I only had about 1-2 tbsp in all so maybe it’s not bad. I didn’t experience any bad effects, either. And I didn’t even have one bite of the Ghirardelli chocolate cake! We went out today again (for lunch) but I was prepared. I had my broth and guacamole and didn’t sample the dessert.This is really hard!! I miss my GAPS-legal chocolate and fruit. I’m going to give myself a few more days of intro, then try to add all the things I was doing before (one at a time, of course). Then I plan on adding white beans and lentils and eventually potatoes.

This weekend I’m going to make the nut bread and make some juice. I have kefired cream and I plan to get some good eggs so I can make the GAPS milkshakes. I made some beef ribs in a crockpot (tons of good fat and sauce) and I’m making my ground beef casserole (onions, garlic, tomato, eggplant, zucchini, squash, ground beef, broth, spices, fresh parsley). I love this simple recipe and you can change it up by adding different veggies, spices and herbs.

Update 9pm next day
Yep, yet another day gone. Weekends are crazy around here! I should not have even attempted to do daily posts. Anyhow, I made my casserole and cleaned up the ribs. I put the leftover fat, bones and gristle and made broth on that. I’m planning to make some beef veggie soup with that. I have 2 quarts of sauce from the ribs (made with tomatoes, onions, garlic and parsley). I probably have a quart or so of beef from the ribs. I made the sourdough pancakes and they turned out good (much better with butter and a bit of honey). I made some juice tonight (maybe 2 cups?) with carrots, celery, lettuce, apple, cucumber and ginger. Very tasty! I cheated some more tonight… we went to a Thai place and I had a coconut chicken soup and larb salad (made with beef). I think all that was legal! I had some raw cabbage – probably not the best idea. Then I had some dessert: pancake, crepe and ice cream. Few bites of each… soooo goooood….. I think I’m officially off intro. I’m going to have some broth tonight and be back on schedule tomorrow. I’ve been doing my probiotic and FCLO in the mornings. I’m doing basic teas with ginger. Breakfasts and lunches are intro-legal. It’s just going out that’s hurting me… and only on intro.

I’m a bit disappointed but realistic. I’m going to run a summary tomorrow. For tonight I’m pretty tired.

Leave a Reply

