My boys

In short that’s the reason I’ve not been posting lately.

My little one G is 20.5 months old and full of energy. He’s up between 7 and 7:30 every morning (and I mean EVERY morning), takes a 2 hour nap in the afternoons and rarely goes down before 10pm. Yep, he’s wearing me out. He has not been eating much lately but I’m trying to stick to GAPS as much as possible. His breakfasts, lunches and most of his snacks are GAPS legal. He does get occasional potatoes or rice plus an odd piece of bread or a cracker. His eczema is virtually gone now everywhere. I’m very happy with where he is. DH and I no longer fight about what to feed him. In a way I have given in but I think I’ve struck the perfect balance between keeping him on GAPS and not fighting with DH at every turn. I can live with that!! He still loves his veggies (mostly sauteed in lard or ghee), fruit and cheese. French fries are his weakness but lately I’ve been making them at home with expeller pressed coconut oil and organic potatoes.

My big boy A is 7 and had a bit of an injury Monday morning. He smacked into part of a monkey gym on the playground and cut his lip with is tooth. That meant leaving work for over 3 hours (very late lunch), tracking down a kids’ immediate care place (a good FYI for future reference), spending an hour there only to find out no stitches necessary and getting a popsicle (nasty purple thing that my son promptly threw away – GOOD BOY) and then depositing A at home with G and the nanny. Yesterday morning we took a trip to the dentist since his front tooth looked ‘loose’ and was lower than the other front tooth. Turns out there is swelling at the root though the tooth itself is fine. I need to come back in 3 weeks for a checkup. The dentist prescribed antibiotics to stave off infection and I’m torn whether to get them or not… It’s amoxycyllin. Last time A had this (10 days in November 2010) he really didn’t like the taste and it was a major battle to have him take it. And I’m wondering does he REALLY need it??? What are the chances of him getting an infection?? And he’s supposed to take it for 2 weeks. 2 weeks of antibiotics !!! Argh… FYI this dentist also does routine fluoride treatments (I obviously don’t get them) so I don’t know whether he’s doing the antiobiotics as a ‘routine’ or if A really needs them… still thinking on it.

I’m thinking about going no dairy for the next 6 weeks. After that I’d like to do intro again. I’m enjoying my borscht now (3rd day in a row) and loving it!!

I’ve been cheating a lot lately. Mainly coffee (it’s watered down but I can’t have it without creamer or milk) and sugar (literally small bites of whatever ‘stuff’ catches my fancy). I’m trying hard to control them. I made a batch of GAPS legal chocolate so those craving are taken care of. I’m still doing the coffee but I’m thinking of making homemade coconut milk and trying that. I like a commercial coconut milk creamer but it has sugar…. sigh…

Update 9:15am next day
I’m definitely getting sick. DH has been sneezing for a week and now G and I are starting, too. My nose is stuffed up and I feel achy… finally got to bed around 11pm last night and that was not enough sleep.

Food diaries
B: scrambled eggs with ghee, sausage and tomatoes, pancakes
L: borscht with pate, 1/2 avocado with EVOO, beet kvass, kefir, grapes, small cafe latte (no sweetener)
D: roast pork with onions, juices and fat, sauteed veggies, SK, 1/2 frozen crunchy banana

Leave a Reply

