Food wars

It’s on. This morning I made my 7YO breakfast: scrambled egg with ghee, 2 strips of bacon and 1/4 croissant with cream cheese. He, of course, devoured the croissant, ate one piece of bacon and none of the eggs that I could see. I asked him to eat more and he asked for more bread. I said you already ate the bread, now eat the eggs. “Mommy, my tummy hurts.” Riiight…. He really exasperates me.

I felt kinda sad today. It’s the last day at the office for our intern and everyone is going out to lunch. Unfortunately the restaurant of choice is Olive Garden (Italian, for those not familiar with it) and there are virtually no choices for no grain/GF person, much less a GAPSter. So I’m sitting here, eating my grassfed burger, onions in lard, avocado and kimchi/SK. Hmm… maybe I’m  not missing out that much?? Only the company, I guess…

I finished the brownie last night… it was good and it’s gone. Whew….no reaction that I can tell.

DH got a clean bill of health yesterday at the doctor’s. He decided to to a physical and they did EKG, x-ray, tested his lungs and overall health. He’s going for bloodwork on Friday and some more tests next week. Can’t wait to see results!! It’s his second day not smoking and so far he’s doing great!!! I’m so proud of him…

Update 3:25pm
I’m in a bit of a funk because I don’t know what to cook for dinner anymore. DH and A won’t eat GAPS-style food and I’ve gotten used to meat and veggies over the 3 weeks they weren’t here. Now I have to get back to the old way of cooking…. sort of. Most of the food they’re used to eating comes with a starch, too. And of course I have to have veggies on hand for myself. I guess I’ll take it one day at a time.

It seems my craving for fruit has gone away. I have not taken fruit for lunch to work the last few days and hardly missed it. I thought I would ‘make up’ and have it when I got home but strangely didn’t crave it! I’ve gotten used to having my 1/2 frozen banana in chocolate (butter, cocoa powder, honey, PB) and that satisfies my fruit and sweet craving at once!! I’m thinking about cutting out my PB/butter combo, too. There is really no need for it and I’d rather save nuts for baking. My next project will be ice cream sandwiches!! I plan to make brownies with nut butter, ice cream with coconut milk and combine together. Yum!!!

Update 10:30pm
Headed to bed. Not a bad day… but I’m tired. Open house at school tomorrow which means shorter day at work.. yay!!

Food diaries
B: scrambled eggs with ghee, bacon, pancakes with butter
L: burger, onions in lard, avocado with EVOO, kimchi/SK, water kefir, yogurt, PB/butter
D: beef, zucchini and squash in lard, broccoli, cauliflower, cheese, SK, water kefir, 1/2 banana in chocolate, few bites of cereal (grain-free and legal)

Leave a Reply

