Let’s get personal

Aunt Flo is in town. And I’m trying a new form of feminine protection. Ever hear of the Diva Cup? If not, head on over here. I debated this for months and months and finally decided to go for it. I bought it through ebay and paid about $30 which included shipping. It only took me one try to put it in – I didn’t even feel it!!

So this morning I knew Aunt Flo was here…. and I used the Cup. I have backup, just in case, but I’m hopeful it will work!!

I bought some eggs from the local market last weekend and I scrambled some this morning. The yolks were large and orange – even from the small eggs!!! I may go with this source from now on… My regular source is pastured as well, but I don’t get orange yolks and I’m not sure why.

Ready for the last fridge part? I hope you have enjoyed it – I know I have. Sure puts things in perspective for me.

Top shelf from left: white wine vinegar, ancho chili vinaigrette (haven’t used it in a while.. not sure if it’s GAPS legal), barbeque sauce (I need to finish it already… there is maybe a spoonful left – not GAPS legal but I love it!), CLO (Twinlab). In the back are pickled jalapenos, dressing (from WFN.. not sure if GAPS legal), LF ketchup and something else. I’ll report back.

Middle shelf: chipotles, chlorophyll (left over from my pregnant days – my midwife had me take it in case I bled during labor which I did), fish sauce, homemade mayo. In the back are anchovies, rice wine vinegar, Worcestershire sauce (I need to toss this stuff – it’s nasty!), Pad Thai sauce and orange stevia.

Bottom shelf: wine, ketchup (for the rest of the family, HFCS free), whipped cream (now gone!!!), maple syrup and Hershey’s chocolate syrup.

Update 9:30pm
The mystery jar on the top shelf is my MIL’s black currant preserves. Not GAPS legal because of the sugar.

So the Diva Cup is performing very well. Only a tiny bit of spotting. It barely filled 1/4 way so far and I can’t even feel it!! Taking it out and putting it back in takes seconds. I’m loving it so far! And of course I can attribute the return and subsequent regularity of Aunt Flo’s visits to GAPS. Thanks! (I think…)

Tonight’s dinner was all local: all veggies, meat, lard… I love it!!! I’m considering ordering avocadoes through the mail. I eat them every day and hate missing out if I run out. G loves them too… I’m also starting to think about freezing and dehydrating for the winter. So far I have come up with this:

  • apples: make applesauce and freeze, dehydrate slices
  • peaches: freeze slices for smoothies, cobblers, ice cream, etc.
  • cabbage: make sauerkraut
  • tomatoes: freeze for sauce, soups, stews, etc.

Sounds like a good starting point. My local market has all these in season now and they are delicious!! I picked up 4 gal of raw milk today and 6 dozen local pastured eggs. Awesome!! I’ll be stocked up for a while…

I had 2 BMs today – woohoo!! I think that makes day 3. I’m hoping to maybe get to 3 a day?? Wow, never thought I’d be excited about pooping. But I also noticed quite a bit of gas today. I haven’t eaten any sugar which is usually what causes it… I’ll have to see if it continues and investigate… For now good night.

Food diaries
B: scrambled eggs with ghee, pancakes with butter, gravlox
L: squash soup, smoothie (kefir, coconut milk, egg yolks, butter, CO, peaches, blueberries, mango pineapple, steamed kale, bananas), water kefir/mineral water, 1/2 carrot muffin with butter
D: Italian stir fry: 1/2 onion, chopped, sauteed in lard, chopped eggplant, zucchini and squash, chopped tomatoes, fresh basil, sauteed chicken in ghee, salt, pepper, 1/2 banana frozen in PB/CO, macaroon, water kefir, SK, few bites of raw cheese (hard)

Leave a Reply

