Off intro?

I guess I’m officially off intro. I had mustard with my hot dogs this morning and that’s definitely not GAPS. I started taking FCLO and butter oil capsules, too. I guess my style of eating could be called ‘intro-ish’. I’m still doing broth at least once or twice a day. Tons of ferments. Limited nuts, fruits and honey for now. At least half the meat I eat is boiled/crockpotted. Same with veggies. But I’m definitely not on typical intro.

I’m hoping to start my toddler’s intro on Sunday. DH is flying out for 3 weeks on Saturday night and it’s probably the only chance I’ll have to truly control my toddler’s food. Nanny will feed him what I leave so it shouldn’t be a problem. Occasionally he wants her lunch (definitely typical SAD diet) so that may be an issue. I’m going to put away all non-GAPS foods. He does like soup and most of his meals are probably stage 3/4 of intro so again, we’re on the right track. If we can get through stage 1 and 2, we should be good. I did my intro in about 3 weeks so hopefully it will go similarly for him.

It’s funny… when I started GAPS I wanted to list all the foods I would add after I ‘healed’ and went off GAPS. Now, 6 months later, I’m no longer interested!! Sure, homemade fried rice would be nice once in a while. I love potatoes – especially organic potatoes fried in lard!! I was already gluten free and don’t plan to eat gluten again. I do have a weakness for tortilla chips but I’m beginning to reconsider due to GMO and them being fried in soybean oil. Other than that?? I’m really not missing anything. I would like to go back to baking eventually so picking a dry sweetener will be something to consider. I’m thinking coconut or date sugar. I think I can make do with almond and coconut flours. I still have a ways to go. I’m going to vary my ferments, introduce yogurt and increase kefir. I also want to add Custom Probiotics and see what happens. So I am be off intro, but I’m definitely staying on GAPS for at least another 6 months.

Update 9:30pm
I had another BM at work so I may be done with enemas for a while. I ordered my water filter so next month I can order my probiotics. I wound up having my 1/2 avocado at dinner and my toddler was asking for it! He ate several spoonfuls. My kimchi is bubbling away. I think it will be done tomorrow. I’m going to start making and drinking more kefir. Right now I’m doing about a cup a day. I’d like to double that. That’s about all for tonight!

Food diaries
B: hot dogs with mustard and butter, pancakes
L: beef with butter, beets with pate, SK, borscht with pate, few cherries, kefir/kefired cream, PB/AB/butter, 1/2 avocado with EVOO
D: stir fry of beef and chicken with mixed veggies in coconut oil, garlic and ginger with coconut aminos, 1/2 peach, 1/2 carrot muffin with butter, jasmine mango tea

Leave a Reply

