Feeling better

Slowly and surely my funk is lifting. Now that I look back, I always feel this way after coming home from a vacation. And it feels weird without my 7 YO here. DH is in better spirits (he’s thinking of changing his business), I’m back on full GAPS (trying to get rid of illegal treats that keep tempting me) and planning my intro. I’m having a very intro-like soup for lunch today.

I did have 1/2 cup of coffee yesterday. I had a headache and wanted to take a pill, but wound up having the coffee instead and the headache went away!! My tummy did hurt early this morning but not much. I’m sure it’s a direct fallout of all the cheating I did last week (and this week, for that matter). Well, it’s back to the drawing board. I’m glad that I don’t have any serious health issues – I’m sure the cheating would have set me back quite a bit. I can’t wait to see what intro will bring.

Food diaries
B: liverwurst (Wellshire brand – it has dry milk in it so it may not be legal; I’m finishing the last of it today), raw cheese, butter, 1/2 avocado, tea
L:  chicken cobb salad (lettuce, ranch dressing, grilled chicken, tomato, red onion, bleu cheese, bacon, olives), peanut butter bar, peach, plain yogurt, hibiscus-licorice tea with honey
D: chicken broth with veggies (carrot, onion, zucchini, cauliflower, parsley) and crockpot beef, 1/2 banana, 1/2 cup of coffee, cheese slices

DH wanted to go out for lunch so I had the salad and moved the soup to dinner instead. Though… I couldn’t wait and I tried it at work. YUMMY!! So simple: I threw slices carrots, onions and cauliflower (roughly equal amounts) into cold broth, brought it to a boil and cooked till almost tender. Added cut up zucchini. When it was all cooked, I added shredded crockpot beef with the gelatinous sauce. Salted with Celtic salt, threw in some fresh chopped parsley and voila! Awesome soup. I polished off the whole thermos for dinner. I got another idea to do two batches of veggie soup for intro: put different veggies in each pot and flavor one with fresh parsley and the other with fresh dill.

I need to get back into the ‘broth’ routine. My MIL actually made bone broth twice while I was vacationing with her: once I had it plain in a mug, the other time she made it into tomato soup. Delicious! She adds a pork bone to chicken stock which makes it taste delicious. I then picked over the pork bone for meat and other ‘stuff’.

Leave a Reply

