Packing… plus some food ideas

Yep, the suitcases are out and we’re almost packed. We fly out early on Thursday.

I wanted to write more about food since it will probably be a while before I post any recipes. I crockpoted a shoulder roast on Saturday. Here is how it went (in order of going into the crockpot)
1 onion, sliced (rather haphazardly, too)
3-4 cloves of garlic, each clove sliced in 2 to expose as much flesh as possible (you could use more, up to a head)
1 grassfed local shoulder roast with bone, 3+ pounds
salt, pepper
leftover Eden Organic pizza sauce – slathered on top of the roast

This got put on high for 5-6 hours, or until tender enough to shred. I’m doing shredded beef tacos tonight (inspired by this post). Tomorrow I will probably serve the beef over rice or something for the family – I may eat it plain myself. I have cooked green beans on hand. I also sliced up carrots, zucchini and squash (my go-to veggies lately – toddler loves them!!) so I may sautee those as well.

I cooked up a package of ground beef yesterday, 1.3 pounds. I mixed it with sauteed onion, shredded carrot and cooked broccolini. Then I added leftover satay sauce (peanut based) which I augmented with 2-3 tbsp of cashew butter, sprinkle of garlic powder and 1-2 tbsp of coconut aminos (LOVE this stuff – I’m going to have to go slow because it’s expensive). Delish!! This will easily feed me for a week but I have to have it eaten by Wednesday night. My toddler actually liked it so I may take the leftovers with me on the plane. I’m very nervous about taking food on the plane but I have no choice. My toddler will get no food on the plane and I have to take some for me as well. I’m mentally preparing myself for the security check. Here is what I plan to take:
jerky
raisins
couple of hard boiled eggs
Larabars
cut up fruit
some sauteed meat with veggies
butter
honey
granola
tea for the toddler (sippy cup plus a straw cup)
pancakes (if I have any left over)
last 3 radishes…

I’m planning on eating a good breakfast at home. Then we’ll have lunch at the airport (they have Chipotle which serves decent meat and I’m thinking guac!) and I may buy some fruit before we board another plane in the evening. That should do it! I thought about taking soup for the toddler but I read somewhere that a thermos is not a good idea.

Food diaries
B: scrambled eggs with ghee and ham, pancakes, tea
L: smoothie, cashew ground beef with lettuce leaves, peanut butter bar, olives
D: crockpot beef, salsa, lettuce, tomato, sour cream, cheese, 1/2 avocado, peppermint tea, broth, 1/2 banana in chocolate with coconut

Leave a Reply

