Busy, busy, busy…

I’ve been busy at work and at home. My toddler has been teething so evenings and nights are stressful – hopefully the tooth will come in before our trip next week.

I’m still going strong on GAPS. I’m back to doing daily broth and I was surprised to notice how some days I go almost the entire day without fruit!! I usually wind up having a piece or 2 in the evening (it might be 1/4 apple and a small peach, or a popsicle made with my smoothie mixture which probably has like 1/2 serving of fruit). I stick to simply things like meats and veggies boiled/sauteed in broth and ghee/butter/lard/CO/etc. I do 2-3 teas daily and I try to make 1 or 2 of them ‘intro’ teas like chamomile or peppermint. I’m going to prep my ginger this weekend so I can have ginger tea, too.

My tummy has been gurgling a lot lately – not sure why. I haven’t changed anything really. My cheats only include things like mustard (sugar) or a bite of chocolate here and there. I’ve been taking l-glutamine to help with my sugar cravings – I wonder if that’s why I don’t crave fruit as much…. I also noticed my toddler’s eczema is getting worse. He has developed a few patches on his thighs but now there are angry red spots behind both of his knees. I’m not sure why. He still gets basically no grains or starches during the week and only the odd bite here and there on the weekend. His sweets are mainly fruit and he gets no sugar (honey in his tea). This just gives me one more incentive to do intro with him. For those of you wondering, he’s 16 months and here’s his basic diet:
B: scrambled eggs, ham or sausage or bacon, cheese; or Applegate beef hot dogs, cheese
L: veggie soup based on broth, fruit and/or yogurt (for now I buy grassfed yogurt but once I know I can tolerate dairy I’m definitely making my own yogurt and kefir), macaroons
D: what I have: usually meat and veggies, occasionally a few bites of potato or rice or rice noodles

I would like to branch out and have him try other stuff – I know he needs more probiotics. I have to get over my fear and ask the nanny to feed him some SK juice. He loves it! And pickles, too.

I’ll be packing this weekend for the trip. So I may not post until then… I need to take the toddler’s food (he’ll be in my lap) and some snacks for me. I hope they don’t give me trouble – I may just cry!

Update: I’m wondering if the eczema is die-off. I have read where eczema can be a sign of the body detoxing. Last night my toddler wanted some sauerkraut juice so I gave him about a tbsp full. He only gets this sporadically but I still wonder if that combined with broth and his intro-like eating is having him detox…hmm…

Food diaries
B: scrambled eggs in ghee, cheese, 1/2 avocado, chamomile tea
L: sausage, cabbage with ghee/butter/lard, sauerkraut (red cabbage), mac vanilla granola, PB/AB/butter
D: veggies in broth (carrots, zucchini, squash), bok choy sauteed with garlic and ginger, baked chicken, strawberries and cream, tea, 1/2 banana in chocolate

I wound up having a Caesar salad from a local pizza place for lunch – very yummy. I’ve also upped the amount of AB and lessened the amount of PB in my ‘mix’. I’m trying to eat less until I can make my own. Just saw this post and I think it’s worth it to make it myself. I dehydrate my nuts anyway (primarily almonds) so grinding them up won’t be too much of a problem. We don’t eat that much PB.

Leave a Reply

