Just 10 more days!

Until vacation, that is. I’m taking the boys to my inlaws who live in Czech Republic. I’ll be there about a week and a half and I’ll be leaving my oldest (almost 7) there for the summer. My inlaws live in a small town, have their own garden, raise rabbits and chickens. Their eggs are amazing!! My MIL already knows I’m GF but I haven’t told her about GAPS. For all practical purposes I’ll only be there a week and I don’ t want to rock the boat, so to speak. I’ll take some stuff with me and eat their food for the most part. It should be easy to skip the rice, noodles or potatoes at dinner anyway. I’m mainly looking forward to relaxing and catching some sun – I won’t stress about food. Maybe I can get my MIL to make a big pot of chicken broth for me…

I made 1/2 gallon of sauerkraut yesterday. I used dill this time – it looked and smelled wonderful. I also made macaroons (orange and chocolate mint) and a batch of veg soup for my toddler (chicken stock, baby broccoli, carrot, bok choy, mushrooms, zucchini, squash, leek, fresh parsley – intro, right??). I made a pizza for lunches for OS (store-bought dough – they were out of organic, organic pizza sauce, ‘clean’ ham, whole milk mozzarella, frozen pineapple – easy and delicious). DH loved it.

I have consciously reduced the honey in my tea to 1 tsp (from my usual 2). I usually have 2-3 cups of tea per day so this is pretty significant to me. I want to be able to drink my teas on intro without missing the honey. My taste buds have already adjusted for the most part. I’ve stocked up on chickens and have plenty of beef and beef bones. I will be making some stock this week since I’m down to the last quart. I have teas and honey. I think I’m set!! I am so excited about this… I would especially love to add back dairy without any doubts. It will be tough to go without butter or ghee for the first few days but hopefully when I intro ghee, I’ll be fine with it. I’ll stock up on veggies and other intro items the week after I get back and then it’s on to intro.

Food diaries
B: scrambled eggs, sausage, 1/2 avocado, tea
L: romaine lettuce, leftover grilled steak and veggies (asparagus, zucchini, squash), ranch dressing, sauerkraut (red cabbage), squip, olives, PB/AB/butter, chamomile tea
D: hot Buffalo chicken dip, sliced raw veggies, squash in butter, apple with peanut  butter, 1/2 banana in chocolate

Leave a Reply

