I’m back…

I took yesterday off… just didn’t feel like blogging and wound up being busy all day anyway. I bought some beautiful tulips at the farmer’s market and convinced DH to take me and the boys strawberry picking. It was fun!! My toddler wound up mashing up several strawberries and smearing them all over his overalls. He looked adorable! On a bad note, I don’t think I’ll come back to this farm again. It’s close to us but they spray pesticides on their berries. I wound up having a mild rash on my arms from it. I washed everybody’s hands twice, and then soaked the berries at home with detergent and some bleach. They are delicious! It’s virtually impossible to find organic strawberries here in GA. I may find some in the store later. So far I’ve been buying local only – I consider FL, SC and NC local to me. I always look for organic but not always find them. I love strawberries but they are part of the ‘dirty dozen’.

Food was my standard fare yesterday – nothing interesting. I tried a new recipe for pancakes today but they turned out more like crepes. Kinda flat. I don’t think I’ll make it again. I’ve gotten really impatient with my recipes. If they don’t turn out at least good on the first try, I dump the recipe. I have so many to try…. I wound up freezing some of my smoothie as popsicles – OS can’t wait to try them! He had some raw milk yesterday. Everybody was up late this morning so he got cereal for breakfast. We’re back to broth tonight and good solid breakfast tomorrow morning.

I discovered a  new eczema patch on my toddler’s leg – right behind his knee. It’s rough, leathery, red skin. Not like his tummy which has tiny red bumps. He still gets occasional bites of bread and such but he’s mostly grain free. I don’t think his eczema is directly related to gluten but it’s definitely the gut. I can’t wait to see how he does on intro.

I have yet to get to my story – part 3. I’ll get there! Maybe tonight. My toddler only slept about 9 hours last night, waking up 3 times. If he sleeps early today (which he should) I may be able to have him asleep by 8:30, 9:00 at the latest. I need to make mayo tonight, PB bars, Chinese chicken soup (with shiitakes)… that’s about it.

Food diares
B: hot dogs with raw cheese and mustard, coconut pancakes, mint tea
L: meatballs in tomato sauce, green beans, carrots, zucchini, squash, kimchi, apple with PB/AB/butter, olives, smoothie
D: Dutch cutlets (ground pork, Parmesan, egg, parsley, seasonings), various veggies with butter, red wine, green tea, 1/2 frozen banana in chocolate and coconut

I wound up making mayo, squip and blending the cauliflower for pancakes. Soup definitely tomorrow. I might get to those bars tomorrow, too! No broth for anyone today. OS had a great dinner: whole cutlet, cheese quesadilla, 2 green beans, kefir. Awesome!

Leave a Reply

