Intro soup ideas

Since everyone is doing intro – I kinda feel left out. Ok, not really – I thought I’d post some ideas for soups. I have these listed in my notebook and will be cooking these for my own intro next month. I envision one chicken broth based soup and one beef broth based soup. There are no measurements – adjust to your own taste. Follow the general direction from the GAPS book (or your favorite blog!).

Chicken soup: onions, garlic, carrots, zucchini ‘noodles’, salt and pepper, pate, broth (I have also seen versions with greens, celery, cauliflower ‘rice’ and thyme)
French onion soup: 6 onions, caramelized, beef broth, bay leaf, thyme, red wine vinegar, salt, wine (optional)
Shiitake mushroom soup: ginger, garlic, green onions, coconut aminos, ACV, sliced shitakes, seaweed (optional)
Roasted veggie soup (later stage intro): onions, carrots, celery, savoy cabbage, leeks, garlic, olive oil – roast all veggies before putting in soup, parsley, salt and pepper – squash would also be nice here
Squash soup (my idea): squash, carrot, onion, garlic, cauliflower, fresh sage, broth, shredded beef – I envision this as a blended soup topped with shredded beef
Tomato basil soup: 1/2 broth, 1/2 tomato puree, fresh basil, sour cream – this could totally work with dairy or with some coconut milk or cream
Blended veg soup (my toddler loves this soup): broccoli, cauliflower, carrot, onion, peas, fresh parsley – cook all veggies in broth, add fresh parsley, cool, puree to desired consistency. Other veggie ideas: mushrooms, greens.

Food diaries
B: fried eggs with ghee, last slice of Canadian bacon, sausage, pancakes with butter, tea
L: crockpot beef in veggie tomato sauce, butterred cabbage, sauerkraut (red cabbage), strawberries, PB/AB/butter, squip
D: eating out: double cheeseburger with ketchup, lettuce, tomato, onion, side salad, unsweet tea, 1/2 frozen banana treat

I made awesome cabbage last night. I usually saute some onion and cubed tomato in butter/ghee/olive oil or a combo of the 3 fats, I sometimes add pepper if I have it. Then add shredded cabbage, salt, pepper and caraway to taste and steam until soft. I added tons of butter and mixed it in plus a spoon of tomato paste. Yummy. This was the last of the crockpot beef in sauce – the sauce was awesome but I ruined it my mixing in the last of the arrowroot-thickened sauce leftover from DH’s beef stew. So not worth it. Next time I’m freezing it or just throwing it out. Flatulence was back with a vengeance and my hands are hurting today – arthritis-like pains in my palms. DH is planning to order wings tonight so I’ll be eating before they order. I have plenty of GAPS-legal food at home. Older son (OS) had egg, bacon and slice of croissant for breakfast. Oh, and cheese. I let him have lunch at school today (his favorite: popcorn shrimp and mac and cheese). I let him do this once a week or so. Tonight will be ‘junk’ so I’ll start over with good food tomorrow. I have the broth ready!

Evening: OS had his broth after eating out. Success!

Leave a Reply

