My story – part 2

I promised part 2 of my food story so here it goes. I came to the U.S. in 1990. We continued to mostly cook from scratch at home but I do recall trips to various restaurants and fast  food places. My mom even worked for Domino’s Pizza for a while so we had free pizza from there. We succumbed to the ‘lowfat’ craze of the 90s and traded in our butter for Country Crock and fullfat milk for 2%. We never did ‘no fat’ so that is a blessing. I’m pretty sure we cooked with canola oil. Even though we cooked fresh meats and vegetables, made bone broth, ate eggs, etc. things like soda and various snacks began sneaking in. My brother and I ate lunches at school though I did carry my own lunch in my junior and senior year of high school, as well as college.

In my early twenties I battled several UTIs which of course meant antibiotics. Up until then I only had antibiotics once? Then I wound up having something like 3 doses over 6 months. Then came the ‘pill’. I was on it for a total of 5 years. Talk about damage to your gut flora. When I started living on my own I went back to full fat everything, including real butter. Everything was still store-bought but I cooked at home a lot more. I did not go out to eat much when I was in college until I started dating my soon-to-be husband. We ate it all: pizza, wings, Mexican, etc. All of it pretty cheap. This was in the late 90s.

I do remember several food-related issues around this time. I craved pickles – I ate the tiny Claussen pickles from the supermarket. I wonder now if my body was craving LF foods. I remember when we would go out to eat, the food would sit in my stomach for hours and I would still feel full the morning after. I felt the food in the restaurants was ‘too rich’. I was definitely irregular.

The next segment of my story will lead into discovering Weston Price and eventually going gluten free.

Food diaries
B: scrambled eggs with ghee, butter, bacon grease and Canadian bacon, hibiscus licorice tea
L: meatballs (beef, veggies, coconut flour, egg, seasoning) in tomato sauce/stock, 1/2 avocado, sauerkraut, squip, plain yogurt, strawberries, pineapple
D: crockpot beef (chuck roast) shredded into tomato/veg sauce, sauerkraut (red cabbage), broth with pate, tsp of PB

I am keeping my foods simple in preparation for intro. The meatballs were fabulous. I poached them in stock with a bit of tomato sauce – tender and flavorful. The veggies in them helped a lot. I bought my older son some grassfed yogurt so I’m finishing up the plain yogurt. I’m still doing some dairy because I will have to rely on some on my trip in a few weeks. I’m down to sour cream, cheese and plain yogurt. This week will be trying because we’ll be having beef a few times and my older son is not a fan. I made my younger son a blended veggie soup in stock so he’ll be happy all week eating that for lunch. He is just so easy – will try anything. I can’t wait to see how he does on intro. I’ll be making the cauli pancake today – I’m so psyched. I hope it turns out. Also need to make the frozen chocolate bananas – so yummy.

Bananas are in the freezer – some with coconut, some with cashews. I also prepped the pancake batter and cauliflower pancake batter. I’ll try to fry a few tomorrow morning. Cooked potatoes and noodles for the boys for the rest of the week. I’m chilling with my broth for a few minutes, then off to bed. I really need to be in bed by 10. Yeah, good luck with that…

Leave a Reply

