So many changes!

And yet so many things remain the same… There is so much to write about!! I guess I’ll tackle one topic at a time!

We were all in sad shape about 3 weeks ago, just before we went on vacation. G (my 2.5 year old) was having diarrhea a week after finishing up antibiotics (which might or might have not helped heal his ear infection and did not do anything for his cough) which led to diaper rash (only second time in his life – he hasn’t had diaper rash since he was like 6 months old!!). A (my almost 8 year old) was having anxiety which leads to sore tummy and throwing up (or attempting to). DH and I both woke up early in the morning (think 3am) on the day of our trip with the big D. DH was also having chest and shoulder pains, numbness in arm and leg and trouble breathing. After a brief visit to the doctor (heart, lungs and BP all good) he wound up with a prescription that he took for only 2 days. He was down and out, barely able to move.

We got to the airport just fine. DH was feeling better. A threw up on the curb just outside the airport but since he didn’t eat anything it was only bile. I kept checking on G to make sure to catch his D and change him ASAP. We got to the gate early and I left the guys there in search of food. I wound up getting some sandwiches at Atlanta Bread Company and ate the eggs/ham/bacon off one. Everyone seemed to be doing well and was in good spirits. The flight went well and we got to Aruba early Saturday afternoon.

Ahhhhh… Aruba. The pictures say it all:

We spent a week there. We had a small apartment-like hotel room so full size fridge, cook top and convection oven. We cooked breakfasts at home and took snacks to the beach (I loaded up on Lara bars in the States before going). Then we went out for dinner in the afternoons. Seafood is great here and there are plenty of groceries for us GAPS folks. I even splurged on French and New Zealand butter – yum!! I must say I did cheat, having small amounts of sugar here and there and eating lightly breaded fish in a Thai restaurant. No ill effects. We soaked in the ocean – G’s diaper rash cleaned up in a matter of one day… Everyone felt great.
We’re back from vacation now – 2 weeks or so – and things are not looking so great. We’re all coughing and have runny noses. I’m sure AC has something to do with – we’ve been enduring 100+ degree temperatures for almost a week. Hopefully it will clear up soon. G is having a bit of the big D again. A is becoming pickier and pickier. I’ve been experimenting with nonGAPS foods again and having mixed results. A and I got food poisoning a few days ago and were miserable for 2 days. We’ve eaten out quite a few times since we’ve been back and I’ve been trying to get back into the swing of things with cooking. Some of my digestive issues came back after I let go with having some sugar so I’m back to honey only. Basically some rice pasta or potatoes are fine once in a while and I’ve even had some GF bread but I won’t be buying any more. I really need to stick to meat and veggies for a while and definitely need more broth. It’s so tough to have it during the summer….
I hope to get back to regular posts soon… It’s been a bit hectic at work and with the kids being in summer camp. Work should be back to normal in a few weeks..
3 responses to “So many changes!

  1. It’s crummy to feel unwell during the summer. I hope everyone turns around quickly!

    We’re buckling down and getting back to basic foods again tomorrow. Meat, veggies, and fruit here. We have been letting things slip, and it’s taking a minor toll on our health. I need to nip it in the bud before it’s a major one!

    The one good thing about illness in the summer is the easy availability of good old vitamin D. Having a new vegetable garden has been a great way for us to get some extra sun and fresh air this summer and makes a big difference in how we feel. You can also use gelatin (we use Great Lakes kosher beef gelatin) to sub for broth during the hot weather. We’re not getting in any broth right now, so it’s a good compromise. I usually make mine in the form of kombucha jello. It ROCKS.

    Good luck getting back to normal mama!

  2. Thanks Jennifer. This really sums it up well: “We have been letting things slip, and it’s taking a minor toll on our health. I need to nip it in the bud before it’s a major one!” It’s so easy to start adding things back in and not noticing right away how your health suffers… I quickly figured out that the sugar I’ve been eating has been giving me gas once again (this was a major reason I started GAPS in the first place: uncontrollable gas). This was not some bits here and there that I was fine with: bacon, ham, dark chocolate – I started eating regular ice cream, for one.. well, no more.
    That’s a good idea about gelatin – I really need to get me some….

Leave a Reply

